Transmogrified

Musings About Online Marketing

Facebook Auto-Sending Friend Requests?

with 6 comments

While setting up a new Facebook account to test out some Facebook apps, a coworker noticed that he had a Friend Request (not a People You May Know suggestion) from his personal account, along with a number of requests from other people.  Clicking ‘confirm’ automatically added him as a friend to his personal account, even though he had never sent a request in the first place.  Has anyone else had some new friends pop into their list without your knowledge?  I tested this out by setting up a new account, and had one friend request show up in that manner (screenshot below), and it was not from my personal account.

Let me know if you have knowledge of this and what causes it to happen.  I’ve found a few things about people maybe experiencing the same thing, but no official word from Facebook.

Facebook is now automatically sending Friend Requests?

Written by rogersikes

July 20, 2011 at 12:11 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A friend of mine (who is not a Facebook user) received an alledged Friend Request from me this past weekend. I never sent any such request, since I know my friend is not on Facebook. What is going on?

    john kok

    April 16, 2012 at 2:16 pm

  2. I just had supposedly an “accidental” friend request sent to me yesterday. I went to accept it and it returned an error. So being the nice person I am, I kindly sent one to that person and explained. I got a response saying that “they never sent the request”. Oddly, this person and I have had differences, so I found it weird to have gotten the friend request. BUT I have a feeling they were digging around on my page looking for things. I am a professional photographer and feel it was probably done by accident and they just didn’t know how to “undo” it. =) Just thought I’d share!

    yougotframed

    May 1, 2012 at 10:32 am

  3. The same exact thing is happening to me ! And it’s very frustrating because it’s sending friend requests to like everyone in my networks, mutual friends, and so on. These are people I don’t interact with..and I don’t send out friend requests. So I need help on how to stop it ! I changed my password..I’m might change my email as well.

    Melyssa

    June 23, 2012 at 12:02 am

  4. amazing

    donjosjournal

    August 29, 2012 at 12:32 pm

  5. This might be due to anyone of you using facebook phone app that imports all your contacts to facebook’s databse and sends invitations and requests to everyone in your contact list. If that is the case, you may confirm it by accessing this link “https://www.facebook.com/invite_history.php”. This will show a no of contacts if the import has actually happened. You can remove all the contacts.

    Anonymous

    November 5, 2012 at 6:20 am

    • Thanks for sharing!

      rogersikes

      November 5, 2012 at 4:39 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

